Dylan Von Lahr (The one on the right)

Alright Hulkamaniacs, here is a chance where we can flex our “helping” muscles. That chance however comes with an unfortunate story :/

Above, you will see Dylan Von Lahr. If you have not had the pleasure of meeting this young man, then let me tell you a couple things about him. He belongs to Anytime Fitness off Santa Rosa ave. and he is pretty much a staple at our gym. He’s one of the sweetest, caring, loyal, and compassionate people you could ever have the graceful luck of meeting. Working at Anytime Fitness off Santa Rosa Ave, I had the pleasure of seeing him multiple times on a daily basis. Whether on my lunch when I would walk to Trader Joes (where he works) or at the gym listening to him and Alex pump some hardcore death metal through the aerobic room speakers as they work out like champions, I had the pleasure of having many a conversation with him. Whether giving him tips on how to get the results he was looking for at the gym, talking about our beloved 49ers, or shooting the shit at TJ’s, I always enjoy talking with Dylan. He has a brightness and warmth about him that is hard to emulate and even harder to describe. He strikes me as the “give you the shirt off his back” type and I am pretty confident I’m not wrong about that.

About a week and a half ago, Dylan’s light flickered. Details spared, he got in a car accident that has him hanging on literally for dear life. He went in to the ER with a 2% chance of recovery with the hope that he would hang on if taken off life support. Well, I’ve been told he has been taken off life support and is still with us. He’s in a coma, but the word I’m getting is that he’s being the fighter that everyone knows he is.

Where does Hulk come in? Well, we come in with the strength of numbers and power to do good in the community, THAT’S where we come in. Hulk, there are a lot of us. We KNOW we are a force, I want to show it. Trader Joes has done the “heavy lifting” so to speak and created bracelets to sell at $5 a piece with every bit of the proceeds going towards the medical expenses coming from this unfortunate circumstance.

$5. It’s $5. I repeat, only five dollars. I hope to see everyone get a bracelet. Here are the options… Either go to Trader Joes on the corner of Kiwana Springs and Santa Rosa Ave and inquire about buying a bracelet to support Dylan, or give the money to me and I will make big “bracelet runs” whenever I go to Trader Joes. If you’d like to help from afar, e-mail me at AllLevelsTraining@gmail.com and I can set that up. Either way, it is cheap, easily accessible, and helps out a fantastic member of the Santa Rosa community.

Alone we are small, but together we are strong. I have a “benefit Dylan” boot camp I’m thinking of doing (I just need to get in touch with the right people hint hint wink wink if you’re a member of Dylan’s family reading this… E-mail me at AllLevelsTraining@gmail.com). Tye Rivera also has something up his sleeve utilizing his unique guitar making skills in a way that only Tye Rivera could pull off. Rather than summarize what he’s doing, I’ll give you his exact words:

“I am taking a collection for premium materials to make a uke to be auctioned off with 100% of proceeds going to Dylan! I have some material that I have already put work into that will be part of this project. If you are interested in donating to this project let me know. (TyeRivera@Gmail.com) I will be starting a website with pictures showing progress of the instrument to be posted in the next few days. My ultimate hope is to get a local band to play at a local brew co. the night of the auction and gather not only bids for the instrument but donations in Dylans name.”

Thank you for taking the time to read this Hulksters and friends of Hulksters alike. Let’s help out not only such a wonderful human being by the name of Dylan, but his friends and family who can use all the help they can get I’m assuming.

Hulk Helps Hearts. Let’s show everyone just how much…. AhhhOOOOO!!!

– Hulk

Comments
  1. Tye says:

    I am taking a collection for premium materials to make a uke to be auctioned off with 100% of proceeds going to Dylan! I have some material that I have already put work into that will be part of this project. If you are interested in donating to this project let me know. (TyeRivera@Gmail.com) I will be starting a website with pictures showing progress of the instrument to be posted in the next few days. My ultimate hope is to get a local band to play at a local brew co. the night of the auction and gather not only bids for the instrument but donations in Dylans name.

  2. I love this kid! I make a point of going to his line at TJ’s…and I was there today, definitely noticed he wasnt there but had no idea what had happened. I will take two bracelets for sure, share this link (done!) and start praying.

  3. Amber Lemmer says:

    Dylan is a really close friend of mine, him and i use to play basketball at 24 hour fitness all the time, and he was the best teammate i could ask for. I moved to brazil two months ago, and i saw dylan at my going away party the day before i left, i would really like to buy a bracelet, can it be sent to brazil?

Leave a comment